Sri. M.R. Unni,

(In-charge of Programme Co-Ordinator)


Mahatma Gandhi University.

Tel: 0481-2731029.
E.mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


  • University started functioning in 1983
  • All the NSS Units of affiliated Colleges and Departments promoted “Campus Community Partnership”
  • All the NSS Activities lay emphasis on the “Students Total Personality Development”
  • Participation in the NSS activities helps the students (NSS Volunteers) to inculcate “Socio Cultural Sensibility and Responsibility”
  • NSS, M G University was instrumental in making “Kottayam – The First 100 % Literate Town” in India.
  • Its effort to make “Kottayam – A Tobacco Free Town” were remarkable.
  • The “Nalpathimala Experiment” ie. In collaboration with Nalpathimala Village turned to be a success in improving the Socio – Economic Status of the village.
  • Only university in the country having 100% campus community partnership through NSS.
  • An Eco Tourism Park was constructed near Erumely costing Rs. 2 Lakhs.
  • 1500 Water Percolation Pits constructed by the NSS Volunteers.
  • Maintained 10 Kilometers of Roads.
  • Converted 5 acres of waste land into agricultural land.
  • Drinking water supplied to Pilgrims of Sabarimala 2.5 lakh pilgrims benefited through the scheme.
  • Participation in and promotion of collective farming in 5 Villages.
  • The Vazhiyora Tourism project launched by M E S College Erumely at Mukkada – Placherry roadside and Erumely Town in Kottayam district help the local communities to derive a permanent income from tourism field.
  • Pampa and Sabarimala cleaning drive during Sabarimala pilgrim season with the help of 4000 students.


Assign the Charge of NSS Programme Co-Ordinator to the Registrar <U.O.>

Assigning special duties of NSS Programme Co-Ordinator to Campus NSS Officer <U.O.>


Year of Establishment


Total Number of NSS Units (Current Status)


 Number of adopted villages


Volunteers qualifying for NSS certificates and grace marks(Year wise)




  Programme Officers